Review| The Lego Batman Movie

 

Well, let me start off by saying Happy Valentine’s day my loves! I hope you all had a lovey day whatever you’ve done. Even if like me that meant just going on about your day as normal.
I was meant to be in Amsterdam, but due to last minute changes I’m not going until Easter now… so instead I went to see The Lego Batman movie… because you know I’m nearly 26 and an adult… But I have to say I found it absolutely hilarious. I’ve found a lot of the DC offerings a HUGE let down the last couple of years (I’m looking at you, Suicide Squad and The Killing Joke) But this was actually really good… It had some really random cross overs including Sauron, Voldemort and Daleks… It also made a lot of references to past films and tv shows (Shout out to Adam West, you amazing little weirdo).
The Joker is brilliant, and the heart break he suffers when Batman tells him he doesn’t care about him is a great catalyst for him getting revenge and utilising everyone from the Phantom zone (the aforementioned cross overs… but King Kong and few others chucked in for good measure). Dick Grayson is adorable and although I wasn’t too sure about changing the timeline with Barbara and making her pre-oracle, it was good nonetheless!

For a kids film they make a lot of adult jokes that aren’t actually sexual (Casting my judging at you, Disney!) and making Gotham look like Mordor was genius… although I can’t help but feel like some of the plot strongly resembled the release of the titans in Hercules (it may have been 20 years, but I haven’t forgotten, boo) it was a great film.

In case you couldn’t tell my normally miserable arse really enjoyed the dumb jokes, random references and the chance for my friends to all stare at me when Alfred said the following quote…

Sir, It’s time for you to stop this unhealthy behaviour.Ā  You can’t spend the rest of your life alone, dressed in black and staying up all night.

For context I’m very well known for only wearing black, spending far too much time on my own, and answering my phone at all sorts of horrible times through the night… Team No Sleep right here… But I digress.

Rating- 5 out of 5. It’s a silly light hearted film that everyone can watch and enjoy, no matter what age. Highly recommend! Although, just a warning, some of the songs are a little bit irritating… But it’s nice to have a different view on some characters from time to time. Even if it is just in a kids movie!

3 thoughts on “Review| The Lego Batman Movie

  1. I’m looking forward to taking my kid to see this at the weekend! It looks like so much fun. I don’t know much about it yet, but it’s interesting you mention Babs – my son got a Batman annual last Christmas, and Oracle was in it… but she wasn’t in a wheelchair? It seems like such a terrible missed opportunity to have a really badass disabled character that kids can see and look up to. I haven’t really kept up with the many confusing continuity changes, but I really like Oracle in the Birds of Prey books I have.

    Like

    1. I couldn’t agree more! It’s definitely a miss opportunity to use a disabled person as a role model!
      But that aside, it’s actually hilarious, you’ll have to let me know if you like it šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. I went to see it a few days ago, and I loved it! It was full of fun references and just generally great fun šŸ™‚ I’d definitely see it again. Compared to some of DC’s recent films, it was really refreshing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

